So Much Has Changed!

It’s crazy how things change within a couple of years. Today was a very special day because my younger sister graduated from high school and I’m so proud and happy for her. When I saw her walk down all these old memories of when I graduated and how much has changed. Good things have happened and some I miss. Sometimes we don’t even realize how much has changed in the past couple of years. It’s not just losing friends, but also who I was and who I have become.

One of the biggest things that happen when you graduate from high school is that you don’t see your friends anymore and each goes their separate ways. It’s one of the toughest things anyone can go through and everyone goes through it. For me it was really tough because I was so close with a lot of people and then they disappeared and went our separate ways. It sucked and I felt lonely at times. Of all the friends I lost, I still had a good handful of friends that I still stayed in contact with and we grew closer.

Everyone always says the ones who stay with you after high school are your true friends, but I don’t believe that. The reason I don’t is because the friends I stayed with I also lost contact with them after a couple of years. It sucked and I always thought it was because I was a bad friend. I’m the type of person who doesn’t like to hold things back and will tell you how it is instead of not saying anything at all.

Then yesterday I realized people drift away from each other not because someone is a bad friend, but because we change and become different people. Our goals, our life, what we want in life are different from everyone else’s and sometimes we realize that you don’t want be part of someone’s life style anymore. It’s not a bad thing, but the only thing I can do is accept it and move on because if I don’t then I will be stuck here until I do let go. It does suck when you barely even have friends anymore, but people come and go and sometimes your best friends will be family.

My family means everything to me and if you asked me 3 years ago I will tell you I barely hung out with my family and we were never as close. But now, I can say I love my family more than anything and so thankful to have them in my live because I don’t know where I would be if I didn’t have them by my side. They mean the world to me and wouldn’t trade them for anyone. My sisters are my best friends and our bond will never change, it will just keep growing. I have grown up so much since high school and I’m happy with whom I have become. I have a long way to go, but I know I am in the right path and nothing will stop me. I do want to say thank you to everyone who was a part of my life in anyway because you have made me who I am today, a strong person!

Leave a Reply

